Senate District 31 Vacancy Committee Election Resource Page

Senator Jennifer Veiga  announced on April 7 that she will resign from her seat in the Colorado Assembly following the end of the current session. 

Senate District 31 will hold a special Vacancy Committee Election to fill Sen. Veiga's seat and complete her term.  The date is set for Wednesday, May 20.  Members of the Vacancy Committee will get at least 10 days written notice in the mail regarding this election and should be on the lookout for notice in the mail in early May.  Details will be posted on this site as they become available.

Anyone wishing to express their interest in being a candidate for the seat should contact Senate District 31 Chair Edward Hall at or at (720) 256-4764.

Senate District 31 Vacancy Committee

Members of the Vacancy Committee include the members of the Denver and Adams County Central Committees who live in Senate District 31.

Candidate Forum

Wednesday, May 13, 2009
Pipefitters' Union Hall - Click here for details.

Vacancy Committee Meeting

Wednesday, May 20, 2009
Morey Middle School, 14th and Clarkson
Registration at 6 p.m., Call to Order at 7 p.m.

This is a list of people who have personally stated their desire to be considered for Sen. Veiga's seat in e-mails received by Senate District Chair Edward Hall at Candidate order is alphabetical by last name. 

Click on a candidate's name to be taken to the candidate's page on our website. 

Patrick Byrne
(720) 937-3999,

Jill Conrad
(720) 289-2886, 

Elmer "Butch" Hicks
(720) 404-2286,

John Maslanik
(303) 861-8050, 

Ann Ragsdale
(303) 429-8582,  

Alex Sanchez
(303) 263-7788,

Pat Steadman
(720) 530-7047,

W. Douglas Williams
(303) 887-3399,

John Wren
(303) 861-1447,

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the Vacancy Election Process

Click here for 18 important FAQs about the proposed Senate District 31 Vacancy Election procedures.

For further information about becoming a candidate or confirming your status as a Vacancy Committee Member, contact Senate District 31 Chair Edward Hall at or by phone at (720) 256-4764.